Our Governors

Burston and Tivetshall Primary Schools have a federated governing board, meaning that there is one Local Governing Board shared between both schools in our Partnership. The Local Governing Body (LGB) sits within the broader leadership structure of Sapientia Education Trust. Information on the Sapientia Education Trust governance can be found on the website : www.se-trust.org

The Governors of the federation are responsible for the overall strategy for the schools by:

  • Setting the aims and objectives for the schools
  • Adopting policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • Setting targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • Monitoring the targets of the aims and objectives

The  Headteacher is responsible for the internal organisation, management and organisation of the schools.

There are 7 governor positions. All governors serve a term of four years, after which time they may continue or stand for election again.

The members of our current Governing board are:

Name Position
Helen Adshead  Chair of Governors
Mark Carlyle Executive Headteacher
James Tarry Vice Chair
Norma Ajdukiewicz Community Governor
Rebecca Chamberlain Parent Governor
Jan Frankland Community Governor
Wendy Green Staff Governor


The Governors, including the Chair of Governors,  can be contacted via the school office (office@bps.set.education) or by post at

Burston Primary School,

Crown Green



IP22 5TZ

The Governors are advised by the ExecutiveHeadteacher, Mark Carlyle, and members of the Leadership Team.

Please follow this link to see the Register of Interests : January 2020 – Register of Interests – Burston & Tivetshall LGB

Please click on the link to view governor attendance: 2018-19 B&T LGB meeting attendance